Ideal Race for a Son-in-Law

First off, Happy New Year! It’s been a while since my last post. What’s happened since then? Well, I’ve pasted my first semester of grad school, yay! Other than that, nothing out of the ordinary.

I’ve been thinking about what to blog about, but then I realized, it’s just better to blog about all the random thoughts I have. Why not? I already do it. This is probably the most random blog ever. And I’m probably the most boring person ever, so that’s why in return this isn’t a very fantastic blog.

Anyway, lately, I’ve been thinking about my boyfriend a lot. =) Yes, yes. That’s a good thing. The only problem is that my family, who haven’t even met him, dislike him already. Why? Because he’s not Chinese. On top of that, he’s not even Asian.

When I announced to my mother that I’m dating someone, her first question is usually, “Is he Chinese?” As you can see, this is a very important thing to my family. Well, Mom, he’s not. What are you going to do now?

Yes, family approval is very important to be, but after trying to get approval for 20 years, I got a bit sick of it. I lost a lot of opportunities because I just wanted my family to be pleased. Well, screw that. Deep down, my mom knows there’s nothing she can do. She can throw all the disapproval she wants, but in the end, it’s my decision. She says this all the time when her friends are having troubles with their children. I think this is just her passive-aggressive way of saying I should listen to her.

On the positive side, my grandparents found out that I’m dating a non-Asian person and did NOT die from a heart attack. =)

So, a while ago, I dated a Chinese guy. My family thought he was the greatest person ever, even though they never met him and I pretty much only told them the bad stuff. I didn’t really like him. I think I just dated him cause I was bored and wanted some approval from my family. It was a bad choice. Regardless of the bad stuff I said about him (bad breath, really dirty hygiene habits, lack of caring), my family thought it was a good choice to date him, because he was Chinese. -.-

Anyway, I’m going to try to make my family like my boyfriend now. If they don’t like him, then they better learn to like him. =P I’m not going to lose this battle. If we break up, it’s not going to be because of them. It’s going to be because my boyfriend and I were having problems or something like that. Something between us.

This year, my new year resolution is to try and live to best I can. To be happy on my own terms. To take care of the things that matter to me. Oh, and to pass this next semester of grad school and get lots and lots of research done. =)

Leave a Reply

