Stuck on Gifting

My sister’s birthday is fast approaching, but she told me not to go home for her birthday. She has a lot of work and tests to study for. So, I won’t be going home until Thanksgiving. This is possibly an advantage, because it means I don’t need to give her a gift until then.

However, I have no idea what to get her. I called her yesterday to ask what she wanted. It’s much easier to just know and hunt for it when you don’t have a lot of time. I don’t have a lot of time right now, so just tell me what you want so I don’t have to something extra to think about! How did that conversation go?

Me: What do you want for your birthday?
Sis: I can’t tell you that!
Me: Why?
Sis: Because you’re suppose to think about it yourself.
Me: So, basically, you don’t know what you want, right?
Sis: I just can’t tell you. It’s your own idea.
Me: Is there something you’ve been wanting? Maybe some sort of hint or general direction?
Sis: Nope!

This was how the conversation played out. I totally didn’t gain any knowledge about that.

On the plus side, since I have until Thanksgiving, I just wait til I have more time so I can hit up some stores. I haven’t been like “girlie shopping” in so long. The last time I went shopping was to buy sunglasses, but that wasn’t “girlie shopping.”

Girlie shopping– going shopping for the sake of shopping; shopping when you don’t have anything in mind to buy

I don’t really know what my sister likes. Because we don’t live together anymore and rarely see each other, I don’t really know what she’s into. I was thinking maybe getting her some clothes, but her tastes in clothes are completely different from mine, so I usually but something I like, but she doesn’t really like it. Maybe I should just get something I don’t like, and she’ll like it? If that fails, I’ll probably get her a Glee CD, since she loves that show so much. Or a win-win, Glee related clothes? Ha ha, no, I think in that aspect she’s like me- we don’t like clothes that advertise stuff like that.

The most important thing, right now, is to make it a simple gift, so I don’t have to worry about topping myself next year. =)

Leave a Reply

