Grades!

When I passed back graded stuff today to my students, I put the paper face down so other students won’t see the grade. It’s to respect the privacy or whatever. But after I pass back everything, they just go, “What’d you get?”

Even the kid who did the worst will say their grade.

Competition at its best.

I like when I can compare grades to others, because it lets me know where I stand and how much harder I need to work. Without the competition, I feel completely unmotivated.

This idea is wrong to a lot of people, who believe that grades are your own. Well, which ever works best, I suppose….

Leave a Reply

