Does hot water usually smell?

Let’s take a break from writing about China. =)

So, recently, I’ve moved! Yep, I’m in a new state now, no more MA. Hello, RI! (Okay, okay, so, it’s not actually that far….)

Still, the house I’m renting a room from…. I’m not sure if it’s just a general thing (because I’m near the ocean) or it’s just that I’ve never noticed before, but the hot water has this smell.

I’m starting to notice the smell outside of the house too, like in public restrooms. Is it because I’m near the ocean here?

It’s not necessary a “bad” smell. It’s just that I don’t want my water to smell. It feels like unclean water if there’s a smell. Water is suppose to be colorless (it’s got a tint here…) and odorless (so much for that).

I’ve never lived so close to the ocean before, so I’m not sure how this usually goes. Maybe this is just an old house? (So, that’s why the rent is so cheap…. =P)

Hopefully, you have clean water!!

One comment on “Does hot water usually smell?

  1. I live near the ocean too, so there should only be the salt smell in the air and shouldn’t actually affect the water. Like fresh water. Only thing I can think of is that it has something to do with the actual hot water system, either that or the area. But I dont think so.

    Like theres this region in my country where I stayed at. It was rural and definitely not near the ocean, but the water had a taste to it and was slightly tinted too. It was pretty bad because it tasted like salt water and not even boiling could remove it, but for that place I think it had something to do with the fact that it was so far inland and rural. Mm maybe ask your roommates?

Leave a Reply

