Fried Milk!! Yummy?!

When I was visiting my grandparents, they loved to take me to eat. Actually, it was all they knew, it seemed like. Eat this and eat that. That’s pretty much all they talked about.

It seems that my grandparents think that eating at nice hotels and restaurants is really where I’d get a taste of the true Chinese culinary arts. Due to that, I really missed out on some unique street food (that’s the true culinary flavor of a culture). Ha ha, that’s really a matter of opinion, but it’s really important to have a taste of everything when visiting a place, right? So, here is the taste of Guangzhou and Hong Kong!

My grandfather has this particular liking to eating geese. He kept going on and on about how great it taste and it’s the specialty in his hometown. So, we finally ate some, not at his hometown, but at a restaurant. I thought it tasted a lot like duck. In fact, it’s exactly the same taste as duck meat. But my grandfather kept insisting that it was different and geese was much better.

Ever had geese?

Later, we actually visited my grandfather’s hometown, which is a rural area, and ate geese there too.

Hometown geese! How many heads do you see?

It also tasted like duck, expect this time there was more fat.

The next interesting type of food I ate was fried milk! I still don’t know how you fry milk (because it’s a liquid), but it was really good! It is sweet. The milk is basically like a yogurt/pudding kind of feeling, and it’s fried dough around it. I wouldn’t mind eating more of it!

Fried Milk! Yum!

Another type of food that I thought was really unique was oyster cake. Sadly, I don’t have a picture, because it was from a street side cafe and it was night. My camera doesn’t do well with dark lighting. Boo. I think I need a new camera for when I go to Comic Con. Anyway, the oyster cake was really oily and probably really bad for you, but, man, it was totally awesome.

Something else related to eating, but not food, is that before ever meal, people wash their chopsticks and bowls/cups with tea/hot water. It’s really interesting. It’s a very common practice, since restaurants provide large bowls for people to dump the “dirty” tea/water that they used to rinse their things. I guess, it’s clean to do that, but does that mean they’re dirtier or cleaner than America?

I think that even though the food from the hotels and fancy restaurants were good, it just can’t beat the uniqueness of the street side food. If you’re going to go to Guangzhou, I definitely recommend trying fried milk; and if you’re going to Hong Kong, I recommend eating at the street side joints on Temple Street, they have really great oyster cakes!

Part 2/11 in China Adventures 2010

3 comments on “Fried Milk!! Yummy?!

  1. Oh Hong Kong! I haven’t been there in a very long time.

    I’ve never had geese, can’t be too different from duck… well they are sorta in the same family.. maybe. Lol

    Yea I noticed that too, when I went to HK my parents always did that but we never do it back home. I don’t think its necessarily dirtier in America or cleaner than America, it’s probably just trust [or lack of it way back when whoever first started doing it, I guess remember that China wasn’t always so well off so maybe that’s why?] and now it’s just a habit.

    Im not sure what the name is, but in HK I know they are sort of everywhere, but its like these dough like cake? Dessert, small round yellow stuff and they make it fresh on the streets.. ahh what’s the name =/

    • Are you talking about these little yellow cakes with are shaped like little balls? Look kind of like eggs? I’m not sure what those are called either (my family nicknamed them “baby eggs” but who knows that proper name?). Those are really good! They have them in the States too, in Chinatown.

Leave a Reply

