Buying Mysterious Items

Actually, I’ve never bought any “mysterious” items. In this case, by “mysterious” I’m referring to weird junk from flea market stands or yard sales.

However, what I’m really going for here is when you buy something but have no idea what you’re getting into when purchasing it. That other mysterious.

For example, a used car. Do you really know what happened to that car? No. Exactly. Mysterious. Still, that’s what I’m looking into. I’ve realized that after I graduate, there’s no public transportation where I’m going, so I’ll need a car. Sometimes, I dream about living in a city where I won’t need a car, but… then I rethink the situation.

Other mysterious items:

Food somebody recommended: “It’s really good, try it.” With that in mind, you try it. What follows? Regret? Disgust? Love? Sometimes it takes a few tries before I actually have a feeling for it, except when it’s a really strong flavor. In that case, it’s always a love or hate situation.

Clothes you don’t know how to wear: I’m not sure if it’s just me, but sometimes I’m shopping and I can’t tell if what I’m looking at is a shirt or a skirt! I would really like the material or the color, but how can I wear it, if I don’t know how? This is also similar for dresses. Sometimes, if it’s a strange pattern with unusual cuts, I have no idea how to wear it. There isn’t anyone else I know who has this problem.

Books you’ve never read before: Apparently, a lot of people buy books that they don’t know if it’s good or bad based on recommendations or, even more ignorantly, by reading the  cover. Most importantly- never judge a book by the cover. I’ve seen some really good covers, and that’s the most interesting part of the book. Also, the summary doesn’t usually give a very good idea about what the book is actually about. I can’t understand if you’re a collector (comic books! Harry Potter!), but if you don’t know what you’re going to get into, what are you buying it? That’s why the library is the best!

I wonder, what other mysterious items do people buy?

Leave a Reply

